Welcome to the Next Big Thing

April 25, 2013 — Leave a comment

My writer friend, Claire C Riley, recently tagged me for a ‘chain’ blog entitled ‘The Next Big Thing’. The deal is: I answer a few questions about my current work-in-progress, then I invite other authors to do the same. A bit like a chain letter, except it is only focused on an author’s work-in-progress. Claire C Riley was tagged previously by Karen Perkins.

Check out Claire’s website here: http://www.clairecriley.com/index.html

I’ve included details of their blogs so you can explore their answers to the questions. The authors I’ve chosen have been tagged below my answers.

So here goes:

*What is the working title of your next book?* Interrupted

*Where did the idea come from for the book?* It is the second book in a series of 3 called, The Progress Series. I always knew there would be a second, but I have decided there should be a third as well. Progress was based on a true story, but Interrupted only came about when fans were demanding more of Charlie and Jesse. So, I had to figure out how to become a romance novelist, and fast!

*What genre does your book fall under?* Psychologcial Fiction, Romance Suspense, Women’s Fiction

*What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?* Okay, so I honestly had to research this one. Since I haven’t watched a movie in its entirety since 2008, I had no idea who was out there that could portray the characters. So, based on looks alone, I would say Kat Dennings (Charlie) and Alex Pettyfer (Jesse).

*Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?* Self-published. I’m hoping to have it complete and LIVE on Amazon before September 2013.

* How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript? I am still working on it. I started in January 2013. I have the first beta read scheduled for mid May, 2013.

*What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?* I’ve never heard of anyone comparing my writing or my story to any other. However, some have compared it to the movie, Good Will Hunting.

*Who or what inspired you to write this book?* Long ago, I weighed over 400 pounds, and successfully lost well over 200 of them. I was looking for the motivation I had back then to lose a few pounds after the birth of my daughter and ran across an album by Rx Bandits titled, Progress. I used to listen to the album, when I would exercise. As soon as I hit play on the CD player, all of the memories of that time in my life came flooding back. I was compelled to sit down and write about it.

* What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?* A few surprises, good and bad, are in store for Charlie. She is the focus of Interrupted along with the start of a new, positive chapter in her life. It’s really about her trying to find her happiness with the a new love interest, Samuel. But, old wounds prove harder to mend than she expected.

Thanks for reading! As always, feel free to contact me at amyjq@comcast.net. Check out the authors I’ve tagged below!

The authors I’ve invited to join in the fun are:
1.Missy Johnson http://missycjohnson.blogspot.com.au/
2.Angel Lepire  http://www.amlepire.com/

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

